AMERICA’S INDUSTRIAL INVESTMENT MAPPED ANDVERIFIED.MAPPED AND VERIFIED.
An interactive industrial intelligence platform tracking the factories, jobs, and investments behind America’s industrial buildout—based on verified public sources and continuously updated.
Amazon announced on September 24, 2026 that it will invest more than $100 million to establish a new advanced manufacturing operation in an existing 585,000-square-foot facility at 1175 Collins Road in Greenwood, Indiana, which Amazon plans to purchase and equip (this is not construction of a new building). The facility is expected to create 300 skilled manufacturing and engineering positions by the end of 2028. Planned capabilities described by the sources include fabrication, robotic welding, automated powder coating, and assembly; the plant will supply Amazon's fulfillment centers and robotics network across North America, though the sources do not identify specific products (AFT does not claim the facility manufactures robots). This is a manufacturing operation, not a fulfillment center. AFT records the conservative $100 million floor of the "more than $100 million" announced investment and the firm 300-job figure, and deliberately excludes Amazon's broader Indiana and U.S. spending totals, its Massachusetts robot factories, and its separate Austin, Texas robotics project. Because neither source confirms the purchase has closed or work has begun, the project is classified as Announced, with an expected launch in 2028.
Pirelli announced on September 22, 2026 an approximately €1 billion (~$1.2 billion) multi-year expansion of its existing tire manufacturing plant at 100 Pirelli Drive in Rome, Georgia (Floyd County) — an expansion of the current facility, not a new plant. The two-phase project adds robotized MIRS tire production in Phase 1, with capacity ramping from 2028, and a fully automated premium-tire production facility in Phase 2, together bringing the plant's annual capacity to approximately 6 million car tires by 2033. Georgia's announcement states the expansion will create 1,000 new permanent jobs, with most hiring beginning in 2029; AFT records the 1,000 net-new figure and deliberately excludes Pirelli's 234 existing Georgia employees. Expansion work is planned to begin in 2027 with full operations projected for 2033, so the project is classified as Announced. AFT counts only this Rome plant expansion and excludes any other elements of Pirelli's broader U.S. investment plan.
Hanwha Defense USA (HDUSA) announced a $2.2 billion capital investment to establish the Hanwha Advanced Manufacturing Campus on 1,065 acres at the U.S. Army Pine Bluff Arsenal in Arkansas — described as the first munitions manufacturing facility of its kind in the United States, producing 155mm propellant charges and base bleed units. The Phase 1 administrative headquarters is already open; full construction runs to 2030 with operations beginning in 2031. Sources describe "nearly 400 jobs over a seven-year period, with an average wage exceeding $50 per hour," but because that figure is imprecise and phased, AFT records jobs_created as undisclosed (null) per methodology rather than committing to a specific permanent-jobs count.
Hitachi Energy — the power-grid subsidiary of Hitachi, Ltd. — announced on September 15, 2026 a $528 million investment to build a new transformer manufacturing facility on a 45-acre site at the Copiah County Industrial Park in Gallman, Mississippi, about 6.5 miles from its existing Crystal Springs facility. The Mississippi Development Authority figure covers the new factory, manufacturing equipment, and infrastructure improvements, and the project is expected to create 654 net-new permanent jobs. AFT records MDA's firm 654 net-new figure (not Hitachi's less specific "over 700 jobs" wording) and deliberately excludes the 475 people already employed at Crystal Springs. Transformer production will transition to Gallman when the new plant is complete, with production expected in 2029; the Crystal Springs building will remain in use for warehousing, training, or other operational needs and is not closing. AFT counts only the $528 million assigned to the Gallman site and excludes the broader ~$1.5 billion Hitachi U.S. manufacturing expansion program as well as its investments in Virginia, Tennessee, and Pennsylvania. Construction is expected later in 2026 but has not been confirmed as started, so the project is classified as Announced.
Wiwynn announced more than $1.6 billion in facility-specific investment to establish server-system and rack manufacturing and integration operations in Socorro, Texas, with nearly 1,000 new advanced-manufacturing jobs expected by end of 2027. Amazon serves as the anchor customer for the facility.
Suniva's September 8, 2026 SEC 8-K release updated the facility investment for its Laurens County, South Carolina solar cell plant to "approximately $600 million" (up from an April 2026 estimate of $350 million) and confirmed "564 new advanced manufacturing jobs." The plant is a fit-out of an existing 621,468-square-foot building where the shell is already complete, and it will add "4.5 GW of annual monocrystalline silicon solar cell capacity," coming online in late 2027 with a full production ramp in 2028. AFT records only the $600 million facility investment and deliberately excludes Suniva's separate $835 million capital raise, which is corporate financing rather than facility-specific capital.
SpaceX announced Starbase Louisiana, a planned $100 billion spaceport campus in the Pecan Island area of Vermilion Parish. At full buildout, the campus is expected to include five launch complexes with two launch pads each, propellant production and storage, power generation, vehicle-processing facilities, and supporting launch infrastructure. Louisiana Economic Development reports more than 3,000 direct new jobs over 10 years; AFT records the conservative figure of 3,000 direct permanent jobs only and excludes the state’s indirect, construction, and potential longer-term workforce estimates. Construction is expected to begin in 2027. Reuters reports a first Starship launch target of 2029, while LED describes initial operations coming online in 2030; both timing statements are preserved as a source conflict.
Genentech, a wholly owned Roche Group member, plans a new device fill-finish manufacturing facility at its 75-acre Hillsboro Technical Operations campus at 4625 NE Brookwood Parkway in Washington County, Oregon. Announced August 20, 2026, the approximately $750 million project will double the site and add end-to-end filling for advanced drug-delivery devices, including pre-filled syringes and autoinjectors, serving Roche and Genentech medicines. It is expected to create 250 high-wage permanent manufacturing jobs and approximately 200 construction jobs, with commercial operations expected in 2031. AFT records the 250 permanent manufacturing jobs and excludes construction employment, existing campus employment, distribution operations and the unallocated Roche/Genentech $50 billion national commitment.
Amazon announced plans for a new Austin facility that will manufacture robotics systems supporting its operations network. The company expects the project to create 300–500 manufacturing and engineering jobs; AFT records the conservative floor of 300 permanent jobs. Amazon described the development only as multi-billion-dollar, so AFT leaves the facility-specific investment undisclosed rather than inferring a numeric amount.
Bristol Myers Squibb's approximately $2.3 billion, roughly 600,000-square-foot modular and multi-modal manufacturing campus at Generation Park in Houston, Texas. The campus is designed to produce multiple medicine types — small molecules, biologics and antibody-drug conjugates — supporting drug product and finished-goods manufacturing from late development through launch, with a modular architecture BMS can reconfigure as its pipeline evolves. BMS announced the site selection on August 10, 2026 and says the campus will create nearly 500 skilled jobs initially, spanning operations technicians, production specialists, maintenance and engineering, quality control and assurance, and site leadership; AFT records 500 permanent jobs against that "nearly 500" wording. No construction start or opening date has been disclosed, so the record stays in Planning without an assigned date. Explicitly excluded to prevent double counting and non-qualifying inflation: the approximately 2,000 construction and other indirect jobs expected between 2027 and 2030; BMS's broader $40 billion five-year U.S. commitment, which spans research and development, technology and domestic manufacturing rather than this facility; BMS's approximately $10 billion 2025 research-and-development spend; industry-wide research and employment-multiplier claims; and BMS's existing Texas contract-manufacturing and clinical-trial-site relationships, which carry no new capital or permanent operating jobs. Eli Lilly's separately tracked active-pharmaceutical-ingredient facility sits in the same 4,300-acre Generation Park development but is an unrelated project by a different company.
BeOne Medicines announced a discrete $300 million Princeton West expansion at its Hopewell Township campus, adding a three-story 145,000-square-foot small-molecule pharmaceutical manufacturing facility and 120 new full-time jobs. The facility will support tablet manufacturing and complement existing campus biologics operations. AFT records the planned 2029 operational timing at year precision only. The $300 million is the additional facility-specific expansion and excludes the original $800 million campus investment and any combined-campus figure exceeding $1 billion.
TSMC announced a third Arizona expansion phase on July 16, 2026: an incremental $100 billion commitment for four additional advanced semiconductor manufacturing and advanced-packaging facilities in Phoenix. U.S. Commerce states the phase brings TSMC's total planned U.S. investment to $265 billion and total leading-edge semiconductor and packaging facilities to 12. Neither TSMC nor Commerce disclosed a phase-specific newly announced permanent operating-job figure; statements about significant or tens of thousands of jobs are not sufficiently facility-specific or limited to direct permanent roles. AFT therefore records zero disclosed permanent jobs and does not assign a production date. TSMC's separately reported 2026 company-wide capital-expenditure guidance of $60 billion to $64 billion, disclosed in the same earnings material, is global corporate capital expenditure across all of TSMC's worldwide operations rather than Arizona project capital, and is excluded from AFT's Arizona and national totals.
Under a new multiyear agreement with Apple, Broadcom will expand and modernize its Fort Collins, Colorado manufacturing facilities with a $1.5 billion capital expenditure investment (per Apple's July 8, 2026 newsroom release). The upgraded facility will produce advanced radio-frequency components — including FBAR (film bulk acoustic resonator) filters — and advanced wireless connectivity technologies. This is an expansion and modernization of an existing plant rather than a new greenfield facility. AFT attributes the manufacturing project to Broadcom (the facility owner and operator); Apple is the customer and agreement partner, not the owner. The $1.5 billion is recorded strictly as the facility-specific capital investment described in the release, and AFT deliberately excludes the broader Apple–Broadcom multiyear agreement (expected to exceed $30 billion), Apple's $600 billion U.S. commitment of which this is a part, and the "hundreds of American jobs" figure that belongs to the broader agreement rather than this facility. The facility-specific permanent job count is not disclosed, so jobs_created is recorded as undisclosed (null) per methodology. The source gives no construction timeline, so the project is classified as Announced.
KTH Texas, Inc. — the North American subsidiary of H-One Co., Ltd. — announced on July 7, 2026 (Seguin Economic Development Corporation release) a "$100 million minimum" facility investment to build an automotive components plant on a "40-acre site within the Seguin Exchange" near F.M. 78 and I-10 in Seguin, Texas. The facility will manufacture "automotive structural components, including underbody chassis parts, using advanced robotic welding, metal stamping, and three automated press lines featuring a 3,500-ton press," and is expected to create "170 jobs by 2031." Construction begins in late 2026 / early 2027 with operations in 2028. AFT records the SEDC minimum $100 million figure (not the higher ~$127M cited elsewhere) and the SEDC 170-job figure (not the 173 cited elsewhere), and classifies the project as Announced because groundbreaking had not occurred as of the July 2026 release.
U.S. Steel's board approved full funding on June 24, 2026 for its new $475 million Quench and Tempering (Q&T) facility at the Fairfield Tubular Operations in Alabama, followed by a ceremonial groundbreaking on September 21, 2026, with full production expected in the second quarter of 2029. The project is expected to create approximately 600 construction jobs at peak and approximately 250 permanent jobs once the facility is fully operational — 220 expected union positions and 30 non-represented positions. AFT records the 250 permanent net-new jobs and excludes the ~600 construction jobs per methodology. The $475 million figure covers the Q&T line only and deliberately excludes the separately announced $75 million premium thread line; the two lines together total $550 million.
Johnson & Johnson Vision is expanding ACUVUE contact-lens manufacturing and packaging capacity at its Southside Jacksonville campus. Jacksonville documentation identifies $500 million for manufacturing equipment and 10 new jobs; AFT records that manufacturing component only. The separate $50 million distribution facility is excluded, as is the broader $1 billion-plus package because it includes non-manufacturing scope without a supported allocation. Construction is under way with completion targeted for 2028. Existing workforce, construction employment, incentives and Johnson & Johnson's national commitment are not counted.
USA Rare Earth announced an approximately $1.2 billion investment to build its first South Carolina operation at Bailey Park in Blacksburg, expected to create about 490 new advanced-manufacturing jobs. The 800,000-square-foot Cherokee County campus will produce refined rare earth metals and neodymium-iron-boron (NdFeB) permanent magnets, with commissioning targeted to begin in 2028.
Janicki Industries' Great Falls Manufacturing Campus is a phased 1.6 million-square-foot expansion on 180 acres in AgriTech Park for advanced composites, precision machining, metal fabrication, tooling, parts, prototypes, and assembled structures serving aerospace, defense, and space customers. Janicki broke ground July 10, 2026; the first phase is expected to open by the end of 2027, with the full campus developed over approximately a decade. AFT counts 2,000 permanent jobs conservatively; the company says employment will exceed 2,000 when the campus is complete.
Micron began 1-alpha DRAM manufacturing at its Manassas fab in May 2026 following a more than $2 billion modernization and expansion. AFT records the conservative $2 billion investment and NIST's 400 manufacturing and facility jobs for this project, excluding Micron's broader 3,100 supported direct manufacturing and community jobs figure.
New gypsum and drywall manufacturing facility in Orange County, Texas. USG's largest single U.S. capital investment to date, expected to serve the Gulf Coast and Southeast wallboard markets.
Lilly's May 2026 $4.5 billion expansion across its Lebanon API and Advanced Therapies sites. The announcement did not state a separate incremental permanent-job total, so AFT records zero rather than duplicating the base campus's 900 jobs. It excludes the separately announced $4.5B Medicine Foundry and the original $9B API-and-Advanced-Therapies campus commitment.
1X Technologies' 58,000-square-foot NEO Factory in Hayward is a vertically integrated humanoid-robot factory producing NEO robots and critical components including motors, batteries, structures, transmission systems and sensors. The operational facility has capacity for 10,000 units annually. 1X reports more than 200 current employees; AFT records the conservative 200-job figure while preserving the company's wording and leaves investment undisclosed because no facility-specific capital figure was published.
AbbVie plans a 185-acre pharmaceutical manufacturing campus at the Palmer Edge site near I-885 and NC 147 in Durham County, North Carolina. Announced April 22, 2026, the $1.4 billion project will become AbbVie's U.S. center of excellence for small-volume parenteral drug-product manufacturing, producing sterile injectable vials, prefilled cartridges and syringes for immunology, neuroscience and oncology medicines. The first phase includes SVP manufacturing facilities, next-generation laboratories, a warehouse, offices and employee-wellness space; the disclosed site-wide investment is recorded intact because the manufacturing purpose is independently defined and no artificial allocation is made among integrated campus elements. AbbVie plans to hire 734 engineers, scientists, manufacturing operators and laboratory technicians over four years and expects construction completion by the end of 2028. No public groundbreaking date was found by September 1, 2026, so the project remains Planning. AFT excludes more than 2,000 construction jobs, North Carolina and Durham County incentives, existing workforce figures and AbbVie's $100 billion U.S. R&D/capital commitment.
Caterpillar announced 200 new production-technician jobs at its Victoria hydraulic-excavator and attachments facility. Facility investment was not publicly disclosed.
Amazon announced on September 24, 2026 that it will invest more than $100 million to establish a new advanced manufacturing operation in an existing 585,000-square-foot facility at 1175 Collins Road in Greenwood, Indiana, which Amazon plans to purchase and equip (this is not construction of a new building). The facility is expected to create 300 skilled manufacturing and engineering positions by the end of 2028. Planned capabilities described by the sources include fabrication, robotic welding, automated powder coating, and assembly; the plant will supply Amazon's fulfillment centers and robotics network across North America, though the sources do not identify specific products (AFT does not claim the facility manufactures robots). This is a manufacturing operation, not a fulfillment center. AFT records the conservative $100 million floor of the "more than $100 million" announced investment and the firm 300-job figure, and deliberately excludes Amazon's broader Indiana and U.S. spending totals, its Massachusetts robot factories, and its separate Austin, Texas robotics project. Because neither source confirms the purchase has closed or work has begun, the project is classified as Announced, with an expected launch in 2028.
Pirelli announced on September 22, 2026 an approximately €1 billion (~$1.2 billion) multi-year expansion of its existing tire manufacturing plant at 100 Pirelli Drive in Rome, Georgia (Floyd County) — an expansion of the current facility, not a new plant. The two-phase project adds robotized MIRS tire production in Phase 1, with capacity ramping from 2028, and a fully automated premium-tire production facility in Phase 2, together bringing the plant's annual capacity to approximately 6 million car tires by 2033. Georgia's announcement states the expansion will create 1,000 new permanent jobs, with most hiring beginning in 2029; AFT records the 1,000 net-new figure and deliberately excludes Pirelli's 234 existing Georgia employees. Expansion work is planned to begin in 2027 with full operations projected for 2033, so the project is classified as Announced. AFT counts only this Rome plant expansion and excludes any other elements of Pirelli's broader U.S. investment plan.
Hanwha Defense USA (HDUSA) announced a $2.2 billion capital investment to establish the Hanwha Advanced Manufacturing Campus on 1,065 acres at the U.S. Army Pine Bluff Arsenal in Arkansas — described as the first munitions manufacturing facility of its kind in the United States, producing 155mm propellant charges and base bleed units. The Phase 1 administrative headquarters is already open; full construction runs to 2030 with operations beginning in 2031. Sources describe "nearly 400 jobs over a seven-year period, with an average wage exceeding $50 per hour," but because that figure is imprecise and phased, AFT records jobs_created as undisclosed (null) per methodology rather than committing to a specific permanent-jobs count.
Hitachi Energy — the power-grid subsidiary of Hitachi, Ltd. — announced on September 15, 2026 a $528 million investment to build a new transformer manufacturing facility on a 45-acre site at the Copiah County Industrial Park in Gallman, Mississippi, about 6.5 miles from its existing Crystal Springs facility. The Mississippi Development Authority figure covers the new factory, manufacturing equipment, and infrastructure improvements, and the project is expected to create 654 net-new permanent jobs. AFT records MDA's firm 654 net-new figure (not Hitachi's less specific "over 700 jobs" wording) and deliberately excludes the 475 people already employed at Crystal Springs. Transformer production will transition to Gallman when the new plant is complete, with production expected in 2029; the Crystal Springs building will remain in use for warehousing, training, or other operational needs and is not closing. AFT counts only the $528 million assigned to the Gallman site and excludes the broader ~$1.5 billion Hitachi U.S. manufacturing expansion program as well as its investments in Virginia, Tennessee, and Pennsylvania. Construction is expected later in 2026 but has not been confirmed as started, so the project is classified as Announced.
Wiwynn announced more than $1.6 billion in facility-specific investment to establish server-system and rack manufacturing and integration operations in Socorro, Texas, with nearly 1,000 new advanced-manufacturing jobs expected by end of 2027. Amazon serves as the anchor customer for the facility.
Suniva's September 8, 2026 SEC 8-K release updated the facility investment for its Laurens County, South Carolina solar cell plant to "approximately $600 million" (up from an April 2026 estimate of $350 million) and confirmed "564 new advanced manufacturing jobs." The plant is a fit-out of an existing 621,468-square-foot building where the shell is already complete, and it will add "4.5 GW of annual monocrystalline silicon solar cell capacity," coming online in late 2027 with a full production ramp in 2028. AFT records only the $600 million facility investment and deliberately excludes Suniva's separate $835 million capital raise, which is corporate financing rather than facility-specific capital.
SpaceX announced Starbase Louisiana, a planned $100 billion spaceport campus in the Pecan Island area of Vermilion Parish. At full buildout, the campus is expected to include five launch complexes with two launch pads each, propellant production and storage, power generation, vehicle-processing facilities, and supporting launch infrastructure. Louisiana Economic Development reports more than 3,000 direct new jobs over 10 years; AFT records the conservative figure of 3,000 direct permanent jobs only and excludes the state’s indirect, construction, and potential longer-term workforce estimates. Construction is expected to begin in 2027. Reuters reports a first Starship launch target of 2029, while LED describes initial operations coming online in 2030; both timing statements are preserved as a source conflict.
Genentech, a wholly owned Roche Group member, plans a new device fill-finish manufacturing facility at its 75-acre Hillsboro Technical Operations campus at 4625 NE Brookwood Parkway in Washington County, Oregon. Announced August 20, 2026, the approximately $750 million project will double the site and add end-to-end filling for advanced drug-delivery devices, including pre-filled syringes and autoinjectors, serving Roche and Genentech medicines. It is expected to create 250 high-wage permanent manufacturing jobs and approximately 200 construction jobs, with commercial operations expected in 2031. AFT records the 250 permanent manufacturing jobs and excludes construction employment, existing campus employment, distribution operations and the unallocated Roche/Genentech $50 billion national commitment.
Amazon announced plans for a new Austin facility that will manufacture robotics systems supporting its operations network. The company expects the project to create 300–500 manufacturing and engineering jobs; AFT records the conservative floor of 300 permanent jobs. Amazon described the development only as multi-billion-dollar, so AFT leaves the facility-specific investment undisclosed rather than inferring a numeric amount.
Bristol Myers Squibb's approximately $2.3 billion, roughly 600,000-square-foot modular and multi-modal manufacturing campus at Generation Park in Houston, Texas. The campus is designed to produce multiple medicine types — small molecules, biologics and antibody-drug conjugates — supporting drug product and finished-goods manufacturing from late development through launch, with a modular architecture BMS can reconfigure as its pipeline evolves. BMS announced the site selection on August 10, 2026 and says the campus will create nearly 500 skilled jobs initially, spanning operations technicians, production specialists, maintenance and engineering, quality control and assurance, and site leadership; AFT records 500 permanent jobs against that "nearly 500" wording. No construction start or opening date has been disclosed, so the record stays in Planning without an assigned date. Explicitly excluded to prevent double counting and non-qualifying inflation: the approximately 2,000 construction and other indirect jobs expected between 2027 and 2030; BMS's broader $40 billion five-year U.S. commitment, which spans research and development, technology and domestic manufacturing rather than this facility; BMS's approximately $10 billion 2025 research-and-development spend; industry-wide research and employment-multiplier claims; and BMS's existing Texas contract-manufacturing and clinical-trial-site relationships, which carry no new capital or permanent operating jobs. Eli Lilly's separately tracked active-pharmaceutical-ingredient facility sits in the same 4,300-acre Generation Park development but is an unrelated project by a different company.
BeOne Medicines announced a discrete $300 million Princeton West expansion at its Hopewell Township campus, adding a three-story 145,000-square-foot small-molecule pharmaceutical manufacturing facility and 120 new full-time jobs. The facility will support tablet manufacturing and complement existing campus biologics operations. AFT records the planned 2029 operational timing at year precision only. The $300 million is the additional facility-specific expansion and excludes the original $800 million campus investment and any combined-campus figure exceeding $1 billion.
TSMC announced a third Arizona expansion phase on July 16, 2026: an incremental $100 billion commitment for four additional advanced semiconductor manufacturing and advanced-packaging facilities in Phoenix. U.S. Commerce states the phase brings TSMC's total planned U.S. investment to $265 billion and total leading-edge semiconductor and packaging facilities to 12. Neither TSMC nor Commerce disclosed a phase-specific newly announced permanent operating-job figure; statements about significant or tens of thousands of jobs are not sufficiently facility-specific or limited to direct permanent roles. AFT therefore records zero disclosed permanent jobs and does not assign a production date. TSMC's separately reported 2026 company-wide capital-expenditure guidance of $60 billion to $64 billion, disclosed in the same earnings material, is global corporate capital expenditure across all of TSMC's worldwide operations rather than Arizona project capital, and is excluded from AFT's Arizona and national totals.
Under a new multiyear agreement with Apple, Broadcom will expand and modernize its Fort Collins, Colorado manufacturing facilities with a $1.5 billion capital expenditure investment (per Apple's July 8, 2026 newsroom release). The upgraded facility will produce advanced radio-frequency components — including FBAR (film bulk acoustic resonator) filters — and advanced wireless connectivity technologies. This is an expansion and modernization of an existing plant rather than a new greenfield facility. AFT attributes the manufacturing project to Broadcom (the facility owner and operator); Apple is the customer and agreement partner, not the owner. The $1.5 billion is recorded strictly as the facility-specific capital investment described in the release, and AFT deliberately excludes the broader Apple–Broadcom multiyear agreement (expected to exceed $30 billion), Apple's $600 billion U.S. commitment of which this is a part, and the "hundreds of American jobs" figure that belongs to the broader agreement rather than this facility. The facility-specific permanent job count is not disclosed, so jobs_created is recorded as undisclosed (null) per methodology. The source gives no construction timeline, so the project is classified as Announced.
KTH Texas, Inc. — the North American subsidiary of H-One Co., Ltd. — announced on July 7, 2026 (Seguin Economic Development Corporation release) a "$100 million minimum" facility investment to build an automotive components plant on a "40-acre site within the Seguin Exchange" near F.M. 78 and I-10 in Seguin, Texas. The facility will manufacture "automotive structural components, including underbody chassis parts, using advanced robotic welding, metal stamping, and three automated press lines featuring a 3,500-ton press," and is expected to create "170 jobs by 2031." Construction begins in late 2026 / early 2027 with operations in 2028. AFT records the SEDC minimum $100 million figure (not the higher ~$127M cited elsewhere) and the SEDC 170-job figure (not the 173 cited elsewhere), and classifies the project as Announced because groundbreaking had not occurred as of the July 2026 release.
U.S. Steel's board approved full funding on June 24, 2026 for its new $475 million Quench and Tempering (Q&T) facility at the Fairfield Tubular Operations in Alabama, followed by a ceremonial groundbreaking on September 21, 2026, with full production expected in the second quarter of 2029. The project is expected to create approximately 600 construction jobs at peak and approximately 250 permanent jobs once the facility is fully operational — 220 expected union positions and 30 non-represented positions. AFT records the 250 permanent net-new jobs and excludes the ~600 construction jobs per methodology. The $475 million figure covers the Q&T line only and deliberately excludes the separately announced $75 million premium thread line; the two lines together total $550 million.
Johnson & Johnson Vision is expanding ACUVUE contact-lens manufacturing and packaging capacity at its Southside Jacksonville campus. Jacksonville documentation identifies $500 million for manufacturing equipment and 10 new jobs; AFT records that manufacturing component only. The separate $50 million distribution facility is excluded, as is the broader $1 billion-plus package because it includes non-manufacturing scope without a supported allocation. Construction is under way with completion targeted for 2028. Existing workforce, construction employment, incentives and Johnson & Johnson's national commitment are not counted.
USA Rare Earth announced an approximately $1.2 billion investment to build its first South Carolina operation at Bailey Park in Blacksburg, expected to create about 490 new advanced-manufacturing jobs. The 800,000-square-foot Cherokee County campus will produce refined rare earth metals and neodymium-iron-boron (NdFeB) permanent magnets, with commissioning targeted to begin in 2028.
Janicki Industries' Great Falls Manufacturing Campus is a phased 1.6 million-square-foot expansion on 180 acres in AgriTech Park for advanced composites, precision machining, metal fabrication, tooling, parts, prototypes, and assembled structures serving aerospace, defense, and space customers. Janicki broke ground July 10, 2026; the first phase is expected to open by the end of 2027, with the full campus developed over approximately a decade. AFT counts 2,000 permanent jobs conservatively; the company says employment will exceed 2,000 when the campus is complete.
Micron began 1-alpha DRAM manufacturing at its Manassas fab in May 2026 following a more than $2 billion modernization and expansion. AFT records the conservative $2 billion investment and NIST's 400 manufacturing and facility jobs for this project, excluding Micron's broader 3,100 supported direct manufacturing and community jobs figure.
New gypsum and drywall manufacturing facility in Orange County, Texas. USG's largest single U.S. capital investment to date, expected to serve the Gulf Coast and Southeast wallboard markets.